SEMINARS

In November 2020, we launched the ISHASH Webinar Series. This is an online seminar dedicated to historical research on atheism, secularism, and humanism. To attend our webinars, register by sending us an e-mail: ishashmail[at]gmail.com.


Upcoming Webinars

Webinar 7: James Bryant Reeves, 15 December 2021
The last webinar in fall 2021 circles around Dr. James Bryant Reeves’ study Godless Fictions in the Eighteenth Century. The author will present his findings shortly and answer questions about his work.
December 15, 10.00 PT, 13.00 ET, 18.00 GMT, and 19.00 CET.

Past Webinars

Webinar 1: Christopher Cameron, 25 November 2020
At the inaugural webinar, Dr. Christopher Cameron presented on his recent book Black Freethinkers: A History of African American Secularism.
November 25, 10.00 PT, 13.00 ET, 18.00 GMT, and 19.00 CET.

Webinar 2: Carolin Kosuch et al, 20 January 2021
For our second webinar, we will be joined by four authors who have contributed to the new edited volume Freethinkers in Europe: National and Transnational Secularities, 1789−1920s, namely Carolin Kosuch, editor (Göttingen), Johannes Gleixner (Munich), Daniela Haarmann (Vienna), and Claus Spenninger, (Munich).
January 20, 10.00 PT, 13.00 ET, 18.00 GMT, and 19.00 CET.

Webinar 3: Kimberly Hamlin, 31 March 2021
At our third webinar, Kimberly A. Hamlin presented some findings from her latest book, Free Thinker: Sex, Suffrage, and the Extraordinary Life of Helen Hamilton Gardener.
March 31, 10.00 PT, 13.00 ET, 18.00 GMT, and 19.00 CET.

Webinar 4: Charles Devellennes, 26 May 2021
Last in spring 2021, we had invited Charles Devellennes to present on his new book on Enlightenment atheism: Positive Atheism: Bayle, Meslier, D’Holbach, Diderot.
May 26, 10.00 PT, 13.00 ET, 18.00 GMT, and 19.00 CET.

Webinar 5: Book Launch – The Cambridge History of Atheism,
15 September 2021

Our fifth webinar was a special event. Together with editors Stephen Bullivant and Michael Ruse, we hosted a book launch of the new Cambridge History of Atheism. For this extra long event, we were also joined by Victoria Smolkin and Ashley Clark, who have both written chapters for this work.
September 15, 09.00 PT, 12.00 ET, 17.00 GMT, and 18.00 CET.

Webinar 6: Remmel et al, 13 October 2021
To the October 2021 webinar, Atko Remmel and Dirk Schuster, the editors of two new volumes on atheism and secularism in Central and Eastern Europe, were invited to present their work on this area.
October 13, 10.00 PT, 13.00 ET, 18.00 GMT, and 19.00 CET

International Society for Historians of Atheism, Secularism, and Humanism

%d bloggers like this: